Magic Carpet – Flashback

GOG reminded me of this game today with their EA discount package.  I had no recollection of it until I found a graphic of this little monstrosity (original found on dosgamesarchive.com):

magiccarpet4

The flashbacks of horror.  The nightmare of these things, dying and dying and dying, then suddenly watching one burst into gold balls with no idea of what I’d done or how I’d done it.  The grand difficulty of being 11 and having no idea how to play this game to begin with, no user manual (I liked user manuals) and gaming context consisting of Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Wolfenstein 3d, Captain Comic and Curse of the Azure Bonds.

Even looking at this fuzzy screencap, I’m filled with gleeful annoyance at the memory.

Leave a Reply

